Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG)


WCAG is a document published by World Wide Web Consortium (W3C). W3C is the main international standards organization for the Internet. It focuses on providing technical standards for the web across the world.

Accessibility Enabler Logo

Meet complete Accessibility Solution that is easy to install and highly customizable. With intelligent and breakthrough design for mobile and desktop, it works flawlessly on any website design.


Guidelines are everywhere. In the same way, WCAG is a published document that speaks about how to make a website more accessible. It covers various used cases for different kinds of disabilities. Such as blind, deaf, dyslexic, motor disabilities, etc.

Every country has to adapt to the Web accessibility guidelines. In fact, most countries have framed their laws by referring to these guidelines.

A few laws such as ADA refers to WCAG 2.0 as a referring document for its execution. Companies and websites have to follow these laws while developing their disabled-friendly products.

More Information

WCAG consist of 14 guidelines:

  1. Provide equal alternatives to auditory and visual content.
  2. Don’t depend only on color.
  3. Use markup and style sheets.
  4. Clarify natural language usage
  5. Create tables that transform gracefully.
  6. Ensure that pages featuring new technologies transform gracefully.
  7. Ensure user control of time-sensitive content changes.
  8. Ensure direct accessibility of embedded user interfaces.
  9. Design for device independence.
  10. User interim solutions.
  11. Use W3C technologies and guidelines.
  12. Provide context and orientation information.
  13. Provide clear navigation mechanisms.
  14. Ensure that documents are clear and simple.

The above-mentioned guidelines are divided into 3 priority levels:

Most of the laws accept to adhere to Level AA.

  • Level A: The guidelines under this level must be implemented by 100%. Otherwise, your website will be unusable for most of the people on the web.


  • Level AA: If you implement the guidelines under this level, you will be making your website accessible to most of the users. That’s the reason, this is a minimum expected level.


  • Level AAA: By following guidelines under this level, you’re making your website an untimed experience to everyone irrespective of their disabilities.

Make your website a better place for everyone

Accessibility Enabler helps thousands of people to overcome their disability every month. Add an accessibility toolbar to your website and build a better society around yourself. Start making your contribution from today.

Try For Free